New SANRAL board announced

Following a Cabinet meeting held on 22 August 2018, it announced that five new non-executive members were appointed to SANRAL’s Board:

  • Mr Themba Barrange Mhambi (Chairperson);
  • Mr Alderman Robert Haswell;
  • Ms Nkareng Mpobane;
  • Mr Thamsanqa Piet Matosa; and
  • Ms Lungile Madladla.

Ms Lungile Madlala returns to the Board. She was a member between 2008 and 2013, was a board member of the Construction Industry Development Board, was an executive committee member of the World Road Association and chairman of Inoxa Industries. She is a trained civil engineer with two decades corporate governance experience in both public and private spheres.

Mr Alderman Robert Haswell J.P. had a distinguished academic career here and internationally, was elected to the Pietermaritzburg city council in 1984 and was the first mayor of the Maritzburg-Msunduzi Transitional Local Council in 1995.

Ms Nkareng Mpobane has a degree in economics from the University of the Witwatersrand and has worked at RMB Private Bank.

Mr Thamsanqa Piet Matosa was president of the National Union of Mineworkers (NUM) in 2015 and in 2018 global deputy president of the Building and Woodworkers International Workers Union.

Mr Themba Barrange Mhambi did his BA Honours at the University of Johannesburg and his masters at New York University in the USA. He has been active as a lecturer, project manager and strategy developer at several educational institutions as well as state-owned enterprises.